Testimonials

“My wife and I like to consider options and do considerable research on our own when travel planning.  [Our Travel Planner,] Jenny was very patient and helpful providing us additional information we needed to make the best decisions about our itinerary.  Also helpful in finding  budget that worked for us.  Susan and I had a fabulous time in Oaxaca.  Glowing reviews on all counts.  Manuel an excellent driver.  Gabriel was an outstanding guide.  So knowledgeable, friendly, and open to all questions.  Seemed to know everyone in Oaxaca and environs.  Provided a real insider’s perspective on everything.  Took us to outstanding examples of craft-making and street food.  Both Manuel and Gabriel were very accommodating of my accessibility limits.  Very much appreciated. [Our hotel,] Quinta Real Oaxaca was outstanding in all regards. Had never stayed in a 16th century monastery converted into a modern hotel.  Excellent breakfasts, with different Oaxacan options each morning. Nice bar and good room service.  Gabriel took us to great places to eat–restaurants, markets, and street food.  We also had time in schedules to visit two fine-dining restaurants.     We were able to visit with many excellent artisans and enjoy demonstrations of backstrap loom weaving, alijebres, loom weaving, and knife-making.  Great fun with cooking class by chef Oscar Carricosa, and the mescal tour was a hoot. A wide variety of mescals.  Even enjoyed the agave worms.  An outstanding trip.  Oaxaca is a wonderful part of the world.  Journey Mexico, including our excellent guide, was a great partners. Glad to recommend to anyone, anytime. ”

– David Pankratz, November 2016

 

“We are back home in Germany from our first trip to your wonderful country. Thank you very much for the perfect organization and planning. We are surprised by the nice people, the very dense culture and the beautiful nature. Thanks to the broad knowledge of our guides Ariuska, Roberto and Russe lwe were able to get deep insights into your history, traditions, art and religion. Let us take the opportunity to thank all of them again for their excellent and very personnel guiding and flexibility to adjust to our special interests. We learned a lot about your country and want to come back with (hopefully) some Spanish.”

– Dr. Michael and Uta Abraham, October 2016

 

“Navigating Mexico is easier and more rewarding with Journey Mexico, the Signature partner Destination Specialist. Zachary Rabinor and his team have the contacts, the know-how, and the expertise on the ground to make any stay in Mexico City unforgettable, while saving your clients time and hassles. ”

– Ignacio Maza, Executive Vice-President, Signature Travel Network, August 2016

 

“I’ve been meaning to contact Journey Mexico about our wonderful trip to El Fuerte and Copper Canyon in March 2016. All the details and logistics were taken care of, which clearly required a careful focus to accomplish. Our primary guide, Octavio Jones, had developed a very special trip. Every where we connected with locals for special food and accommodations. The wilderness camping was very easy, with tasty and healthy food prepared. Everyday we had fresh tortillas hand made locally. The camp sites were absolutely idyllic. One had 180 degree view of the canyons. Another had charming stream in a pleasant forested intimate valley. On the hiking days Octavio and his assistant Raramuri guide led us easily through the complex set of paths along beautiful ridges, valleys, and woods, always helping us in spots we found a bit tricky. The views were stunning. Every day after the hikes there’s was plenty of time for snacks and cocktails. In 4 days on the trail we never saw another tourist. And throughout the trip we felt very safe.

We also enjoyed the great birding guide in El Fuerte. The El Chepe train was really fun. And getting to see the local Santa Semana traditions was an unforgettable experience. Overall we had a great trip.”

– Julia Vetromile, March 2016

 

“On our way back from the [Teotihuacan] tour & it was amazing! All of us climbed to the top of the Pyramid of the Sun! Loved every minute of it & created lasted memories. Your staff is amazing!! Thank you so much”

– Dianne Oldham, Virtuoso, June 2016

 

“[We] are safely back home. Back to the reality. We want to thank Journey Mexico for the wonderful trip which helped us not just to know to feel and taste the country but also to know the people who are passionate about it and about their job!!! You are the best – the real Dream Team!”

– Elena Komova, World Adventures, June 2016

 

“Thank you so much for planning such a great trip. We truly appreciated being greeted at the airport and having the same driver/guide the entire time. We also were grateful for being escorted through check-in. Jose Luis was very nice and gave us a great tour and went above and beyond. He is a very safe driver. We really avoided most traffic and got everywhere in a timely fashion.

Francisco was very knowledgeable and fun. He showed us a great time and made sure we saw everything and more, the only mishap was we were unable to see Casa Azul due to the crowds on Sunday. He tried very hard to get tickets online but it wasn’t working. It was fine, as we were tired. We learned so much from him and he even shared some of his best street food places. Francisco is truly a Renaissance man. (He was once a bull fighter).

We had so many highlights, it would be impossible to pick a favorite. Our only regret is not staying longer! Of course none of this would have been possible without ya’ll! So thank you again and if we ever go back to Mexico, you will be our 1st call.”

– JoEllen and Gil, May 2016

 

“Our vision for our recent adventure travels with Journey Mexico was to explore spectacular creatures of Mexico and the mysteries of ancient cultures, centered in and around Mexico City. Our travels during 6 days in February 2016 were more than perfect; they were transformational! We both developed new perspectives on nature and deepened our understanding of these mysteries in exciting ways. Last year’s travel with Journey Mexico showed us the differences between travels where adventure is created by well organized travel plans directed towards what we really want to do and see, and travels where adventure is created by unexpected difficulties and disappointments. Journey Mexico’s organization and teamwork for our trip was immaculate and everything went so well that we were able to focus fully on why we were on this trip: To experience Monarch Butterflies in their winter habitat in the state of Michoacan, to learn more about their yearly 3000 mile migration between the USA and Mexico, and to witness the mystery and marvel of the Aztec and Mayan cultures first hand.”

– Richard Scotti and Traudel Schottenloher, February 2016

 

“I am back home after my amazing week in the Tulum area. I wanted to thank Alejandro and all the Journey Mexico staff for helping make my dream trip come true. The hotel, BeTulum, was exactly what I had hoped… from location, to service, and amenities. My excursions were wonderfully coordinated with knowledgeable guides and drivers. As a female traveling by myself, I always felt safe and well taken care of. I enjoyed using my Spanish with the drivers and guides… getting to know them and the Mexican people… not just the tourist attractions. When time and money allow… I would MOST certainly love to work with Journey Mexico again.”

– Leslie Courtney, April 2016

 

“I want all of you to know how amazing Noel is. He made the trip perfect for us. His English, Tarahumara (and of course Spanish) are amazing. He was completely flexible with us. All of his recommendations were spot on. He knew someone everywhere we went and made the trip special. I would only consider going back to the Copper Canyon if Noel can be our guide!”

– Michael C., ProTravel Inc., April 2016

 

“I just wanted to follow-up and let you know our Yucatan adventure was wonderful. In particular, our guide Angel is a gem. We totally enjoyed being with him throughout the whole trip. He is a delightful man and a fountain of knowledge. I highly recommend him and you can continue to feel confidence in his capabilities. The new archaeological excavation at Ek Balam was particularly interesting after seeing all the other ruins. The newly exposed and restored frescoes gave an idea of how the other Mayan structures must have looked. Really a must see after viewing Uxmal, Chichen Itza and other smaller sites. Merida is a surprisingly vibrant city and it was great to be with our friends. Casa Lecanda is a lovely boutique hotel and the staff is fantastic. It was all great! Thanks for your assistance.”

– Sue Goldman, Reid Travel, January 2016

 

“We had one of the best vacations ever! The hotel was great, in the middle of town with access to everything, they were terrific very helpful. We were very impressed with our guide and driver, she was knowledgeable, concerned about meeting our needs and helped us see exactly what we wanted. Could not be happier with our experience.
Thank you and Journey Mexico. We will be traveling with you again.”

– Sherilyn & Richard, January 2016

 

We want to thank you for everything that Journey Mexico and your fantastic staff did to make our long-overdue return trip to Oaxaca a wonderful experience. We saw everything we wanted to see and of course, realized that even twice the time would not have been enough to see what Oaxaca has to offer. Oaxaca is as beautiful as I remember it and every bit authentic, which makes it such a fabulous destination.

“Please give special thanks to the most patient guide on planet-earth – Juan Manual – and to our driver, Manual, as well. My husband hurt his back on the very first day of the journey which certainly compromised our physical agility. Add to that the fact that I am a slow hiker – we were quite the pair. Juan Manual did everything in his power to accommodate us and to solve problems, be of assistance and literally lend a hand when needed. He loaned his personal set of hiking canes – we could not have managed without them!

Juan Manual’s depth of knowledge on every subject and site simply made the trip. Instead of standing at Monte Alban and just “knowing” that we looking at something fabulous he helped us understand the depth of what we were seeing. Every stop we made with him was like that. Additionally his choice of stops was particularly good and his personal relationships helped ease the way.

Alex, thank you so much for collaborating on the exact itinerary we wanted to fashion. We saw it all with even a few additions. The itinerary was perfect!!! We would recommend you to anyone who wants competent, caring, knowledgeable guides and drivers.”

– November 2015

 

“Thanks for your help in making the trip special for [my clients]! This was the first time I worked with Journey Mexico, and as a Signature Preferred Supplier, you met my expectations. It won’t be the last!”

– Sue Wilson, Toluca Travel,  October 2015

 

“Each and every of the team members of Journey Mexico coordinated themselves in in a masterful way to create unforgettable memories on all the attendees. [My trip] is one I will never forget. Thanks for showing me areas of Mexico I had never been before. Looking forward to sending more and more clients there.”

– Mauricio Hanna, Departure Lounge,  May 2015

 

“My wife and I recently returned from our honeymoon in Puerto Vallarta, MX. Our travel planner, Mabel Gutierrez with Journey Mexico, who did an outstanding job with taking our suggestions and feedback, and providing meaningful insights in to various areas in Mexico to provide us with multiple choices to fit our needs. We ultimately decided on Hotel Mousai in Puerto Vallarta based off of Mabel’s suggestion — she had just travelled there herself and personally vouched for it — and not only were we not disappointed, we were in shock of the beauty of nature at the hotel, as well as the service the hotel staff provided. We were never left wanting for anything while we were visiting there, and would not hesitate to visit again. Mabel’s personal touch, and attention to detail, has convinced us that any time we choose to travel to Mexico in the future, we will be contacting Journey Mexico to help make our arrangements.”

– Patrick Kirkendall,  September 2015

 

“My clients have returned from their trip…I just heard from him and he RAVED about everything! He said the Journeys service was fabulous from start to finish, all the tours were perfect, they only saw one whale shark, but they loved the experience…..the hotel was ideal, nothing could have been improved!  Please relay this on to everyone at Journey, THANKS so much for all your help!”

– Debra Hurst, Camarillo Travel,  September 2015

 

“Thank you so much for your help on our vacation to Mexico, we had a great time. The Hotel Esencia will become one of our favorite hotels of all time, the staff was great. The airport pick up was nice, but the airport departure was fantastic, your staff, helped us navigate the check in and was there to see us off.  So, so nice.   If we had more time, I would have preplanned a lot more adventures ahead of time.  The concierge, was great at booking trips last minute so it worked out.  We are thinking of doing Mexico next year again instead of Hawaii! Thanks again”

– Kathleen Kaplan,  August 2015

 

“Thank you so much for all the organisation behind our recent trip to Mexico – we had a marvelous time and everything ran so smoothly.  All the guides and drivers provided were excellent.  I will recommend Journey Mexico to any friends considering it as their holiday destination!”

– Kate Clarke,  August 2015

 

“Thank you for reaching out to me. First and foremost, I want to express my sincerest thanks to you and everyone at Journey Mexico for such an amazing trip. The weather most decidedly what not in our favor, and despite it all, it was still a magical trip. I cannot say enough nice things about your and your organization.

First, we loved our itinerary. Campeche was amazing. What a fantastic city. I can’t wait to tell my clients about this wonderful undiscovered jewel. Even most of my Mexican clients (I have a home in the state of Sonora too so I have many Mexican clients) have never experienced the joys of this city. Merida was charming as always and Holbox was also a pleasant surprise. That island is an ecological wonder with all of its flamingos!!
Secondly, ALL of the properties that we stayed in were first rate. We loved every one of them. We loved the Hacienda, the Casa Don Gustavo, the Casa Lecanda and the Casa Sandra . Each hotel was unique and charming and they all treated us royally. I have so many new recommendations to give to all of my clients.
Thirdly, the guides and contacts in each city were phenomenal. Wilber was a terrific guide for Edzna and our Campeche City Tour, Jesus was terrific in Merida and Mario was a godsend in Cancun as we navigated all of our weather issues. Each was knowledgeable and professional and extremely kind and efficient. Mario was especially such because we truly were trying to figure out how to see the whale sharks but alas, the weather simply made it impossible.

I used Journey Mexico last year to send my clients to Cancun. They were a family of four who waited until the last minute to book for Festive Season and Journey Mexico did a great job accommodating them. That is why I wanted to do this semi-FAM trip myself to see first hand how your organization operated. I have to say,  based on my experience, I will encourage all of my clients who travel to Mexico to use Journey Mexico.  The trip, again except for the weather which was beyond your control, was simply flawless. It was extremely impressive!!

Again, many many thanks. I really can’t express my gratitude to all of you other than to merely type these words but understand it is truly heartfelt and I am very grateful. And please, feel free to share these words with any of your managers so that they too can see what a wonderful job you all have done for me.”

– Shelly Bunge, ProTravel Inc., June 2015

 

“I just wanted to let you know that we had a fantastic time on our trip in Mexico. The itinerary you developed was perfect! The hotels were probably the nicest hotels I’ve stayed in anywhere in the world. And our guides, Ariushka and Florencio, were so knowledgeable that I felt like I received a whole college course in one week! I had wanted to visit Mexico for a very long time, and it was so wonderful to finally get to see a small part of your vast country — such interesting history, beautiful art and crafts, delicious food, and above all, warm and welcoming people. Thank you for helping make this trip so special!”

– Kathy Bluestone, March 2015

 

“So much for the wonderful tour and great assistance from Journey Mexico, its guides, and all the hotels included in our itinerary!! Everything thing from your group went flawlessly. And you compensated and managed our embarrassing mistakes very well, too!! Your planning and implementation was superb!”

– Mark Jones, February 2015

 

“My clients that traveled to the Yucatan in December were very happy with the arrangements .  The guides and driver, Jesus and Aaron, were exceptional .  They were also very impressed that Olivier called them upon arrival  to check to see if they had arrived and everything was  ok, and if they needed anything to call him.”

– Mary, Gullivers Travel, December 2014

 

“Just to say that everything went really, really well on our trip and we so much enjoyed it and are very glad we made the contact with you. Both the drivers / guides were great, and we loved everything we saw..”

– Rupert and Mary Ann, October 2014

 

“We are back and I’m finally getting caught up on life.  Coming back to reality is no fun!  The trip was AMAZING – truly one of the most memorable and special trips I’ve taken anywhere in the world.  The hotels, our guide Jesus, driver Pablo, sites and overall experience were absolutely wonderful.  I can’t say enough good things about Jesus – he is an excellent guide and was a great match for my family.  Patient, flexible, friendly, and extremely knowledgable.  Pablo was also wonderful – such a nice guy and he took great care of us.
Hacienda Petac was unbelievable – I’ve been fortunate enough to stay at a lot of nice hotels in this business, and it was my favorite of them all.  I didn’t realize we’d have the whole place to ourselves – the experience was so special and one I will always remember.   The ultimate luxury, pampering, relaxing experience!
I also can’t say enough good things about Casa Sandra and Holbox – pure magic and I’m confident I will return there in the coming years.  The whole family fell in love with the island – it’s a very special spot.  We also had a wonderful experience with the whale sharks – so memorable.
Hacienda Temozon was “okay” – granted it was hard to go from Petac to there b/c nothing can compare to Petac, but I can’t say it was overly impressive.  Beautiful pool and grounds, no doubt, but the food was surprisingly bad.  Service was also consistently slow, although the staff couldn’t have been nicer.  We had a problem with the air conditioning in one of our rooms and they immediately moved us to much nicer rooms, which were beautiful.
Thank you to everyone at Journey Mexico who made this trip a reality.  I look forward to promoting your company and the wonderful travel experiences you provide!  I’ll be in touch once I get my blog post published.”

“Creating my family’s itinerary was a collaborative and exciting process.  The team at Journey Mexico understood what I was envisioning and created a customized, two week itinerary for us I couldn’t wait to experience.  It covered all of the special highlights of the Yucatan – Mayan ruins, haciendas, cenotes (natural sinkholes commonly found in the Yucatan where you can swim), colonial cities and a stunning island called Holbox, where we ended our trip and vowed to make a return visit soon.” – from the KGouldTravel Blog, read the full post here.

– Katherine Gould, K Gould Travel, July 2014

 

“I just wanted to drop you a quick note to say what a fabulous holiday we had last month. Everything you had arranged was perfect for our family.  Our guide was terrific and we loved the hotels in Temezon and Holbox.  We all agreed we would love to come back! Thanks so much and best wishes”

– Julia Fleming, April 2014

 

“First off, the itinerary in Chiapas was wonderful.  My only suggestion would be to include a “free” day in San Cristóbal as we (being older and exhausted by the end of each day) really did not have time to explore what looks like a lovely city. And, of course, we would have liked to do more shopping!! Our Guide, Roberto Murphy was EXCELLENT!!!  We could not have asked for a better person to guide us through this country which is obviously very dear to his heart.  His passion for the land, the people, and the history made our trip a 100% success!  We all left wanting to adopt him!
The itinerary in Mexico City was also good.  We so enjoyed the Frida & Diego Museum and the Dolores Olmedo Museum.  Both EXCELLENT!  The grounds at Dolores Olmedo are not to be missed… lovely. Xochimilco was very disappointing.  Very commercial.  We got on a boat… had a Mariachi group sing for us (that was kinda fun!), we were paddled about 10 minutes up the canal and then returned.  Not at all what we expected.  I had been so looking forward to Xochimilco canals, flowers, etc.  But it was all crazy & touristy.  Perhaps our trip was cut short?  If that was the trip, I would not recommend it.
John & Barbara’s tour the following day was tiresome, but enjoyable.  They were very disappointed that they stayed for only one hour at the Anthropology Museum… which was to be the highlight of their time in Mexico City.  But, they plan to return to Mexico City now as they saw enough of the town that they definitely want to return! Our guide, Sergio, was very informative and very nice.  But I’ve a feeling that we was too pooped by the end of the day to continue on and “perhaps” cut the trips short???  Not sure… just a feeling.

Overall, I have and will continue to recommend your services.  Your attention to detail was superb!

– Debbie Wild, March 2014

 

“From 3 January to 4 February 2014, we took a private tour of Panama, Costa Rica, El Salvador and the Yucatan Peninsula of Mexico that was designed and organized for us by Zach Rabinor of Journey Mexico.  We began working with Zach on our itinerary in mid-September 2013 and had it substantially completed by the end of October.  We found working with Zach quite easy and appreciated the expertise and knowledge he brought to enhancing our itinerary.  We provided Zach an initial itinerary of the sights and experiences we desired in each country by day.  We also provided him some background information on us and our travel preferences.  He came back to us in a relatively short period of time with a very comprehensive and detailed itinerary, incorporating many ideas on how to improve the itinerary.  As an extra plus, the itinerary included descriptions and photos of the sights we intended to visit and the vehicles that were to transport us in each of the countries.
During our tour, we found that Zach had made an extra effort to ensure that our travel experience met or exceeded our expectations.  He obtained for us some of the best tour guides that we have ever had in each of the countries we visited.  Each of our drivers were friendly, fluent in English and very careful in their driving.  Our activities in which we participated were organized by Zach to be a unique private experience.  Two of these activities stand out as having raised the bar for us for future travels:  our white water rafting and our zip-line, both of which occurred in Costa Rica.  On the rare occasion something was not exactly right about our travels, Zach was quick to compensate and make alternative arrangements to overcome the problem.
In summary, we highly recommend using Journey Mexico for organizing a private tour of the countries we visited, and particularly Mexico.  To date, we have not found another tour company with the professionalism, depth of experience and desire to please as Zach’s Journey Mexico!”

– Joe and Jane Heinrich, March 2014

 

“We are now back home.  We had a wonderful excursion with Fernando.  It was perfect from start to end.  Fernando was so knowledgeable and pleasant to be with.  The day was beyond my expectations.  The trip to Chichen Itza was my primary purpose for visiting the Yucatan, although I loved the beauty of the beaches! The trip to Vallaloid and Ek Balam were added bonuses for the day.  Please thank Fernando for us one more time.  ”

 – Jackie Considine, January 2014

 

“Journey Mexico provided one of the best planned and finest vacations we have ever had!”

 – John Wilson, December 2014

 

“We had a wonderful trip and not a single thing went amiss.  The hotels were wonderful and we all agreed that the tour guides provided by Journey Mexico were the best we’ve ever had from a half century of traveling all over the world.  I feel bad about all the complaining I did.  It seemed pricey given my usual mode of traveling in Mexico, but with the other travelers I think it was wise to use a top rated agency. Thanks again for all your help and I look forward to planning our next trip.”

 – Omar via Valerie Duston, Diplomat Travel Services, November 2013

 

“Mexico was beautiful (the small part we saw). The weather was a steady 26-28 and usually sunny for at least part of the day. Our tour was amazing, we cannot rate this highly enough. Our guide and driver were great. Our guide’s name was señor Ladas (George) and he really made it such a special day. Our lunch spot was great (la buena vida), right on the beach with fantastic food. Swimming with the turtles in Akumel was amazing and Tulum was beautiful. George was so knowledgable and just a great person. The transfers in Mexico were great. “

 – Alison Flanagan via Amy Wyatt,Travel Call, November 2013

 

“My husband and I have traveled extensively all continents. Casa Tabachin was indeed one of our best experiences. There was nothing that wasn’t PERFECT. We will go again for sure.”

– Ellen Matthews, October 2013

 

“Our trip was fantastic. We all enjoyed it immensely, although there was rain and mosquitoes we climbed pyramids, we saw natural beauties and the hotels were all  fabulous, after being in the middle of the jungle we certainly enjoyed the luxury of the Campeche Hacienda. Thank you so much for arranging everything. Patty from Journey Mexico kept calling to see if  everything was OK, she helped us to stay late in our last hotel in Merida, we were very happy. Our guide Alberto was perfect, learned and intelligent, also serviceable and helpful.  TODO EXCELENTE!”

– Perla via Lynda Garrett, Alpine Travel of Saratoga, October 2013

 

“The trip my friend, Nancy Healey, and I made to Mexico on September 9-18 of this year was really wonderful and this was due in great part to the work done by Journey Mexico. Carmen, my own mother could not have done better than you did in making sure we were okay. Your “how is everything going” calls were dear and, even though everything went very smoothly, I know you were keeping a very close eye on us. Thank you. The hotel in Mexico City, Hotel La Casona, was intriguing, full of lots of great art and antiques, but unfortunately poorly maintained…some things in the room didn’t work well including the door lock, radio, toilet, etc.. To their credit, they did try to fix everything with expediency. The Hacienda de las Flores in San Miguel was perfect. We appreciated the room upgrade and the staff was exceedingly good. Loved San Miguel de Allende. As a matter of fact we loved the entire trip. I particularly wanted to let you know how highly we thought of Juan Carlos. He is one of the best guides it has been my pleasure to travel with, having all the characteristics one could ask for on a private tour. He is personable, smart, and knowledgeable. Juan Carlos’s patience regarding the many queries we posed and the breadth and depth of his responses never ceased to amaze me. It seemed that he could talk on any subject intelligently and help us to better understand and appreciate everything we saw. He succeeded in making our time together not only interesting, but great fun as well. Please let him know much we enjoyed the time we spent with him, and that we are pondering a Teotihuacan Workout Program so we can all do the Sun Pyramid to the top and then go after the Moon, as well, on our next get together; also, that we will never forget the Chiles en Nogada meals that we savored throughout the trip thanks to his introduction to the delicacy.”

– Dinah Frishling, September 2013

 

“Thank you for setting up our most enjoyable trip. Everything went smoothly every step of the way. In particular,Gustavo was an exceptional guide. We’re glad you could get him for us, because he told us how busy he can be. He made sure he showed us everything, which is why we travel. I’ve already told friends if they ever want to plan a trip in Mexico to E-mail you, Journey Mexico is who they should contact.”

– Bill Roberts, September 2013

 

“I am sitting in the Morelia airport and wanted to email you before departing Mexico. Steve and I had the most amazing week. It 100 percent exceeded our expectations! Everything was perfect. I only wish that I had traveled to Colonial Mexico years ago. Steve has been taking many notes to write about the area and I am going to contact many of my clients that I know will love this experience. San Miguel is now one of my favorite cities in the world, safe, clean and the architecture beyond description in every corner. We checked out the Rosewood and while it was lovely, no comparison to the Casa de Sierra Nevada. You were right! The butterfly experience was magical. We loved hiking up to Cerro Pelon and nothing can describe the sight of millions of butterflies surrounding us. There was virtually no one else there but us, unlike El Rosario where it was roped off and others there viewing too. We did enjoy El Rosario of course but glad we did it first. Rancho San Cayetano was great. Your description was right on but although simpler, the beautiful grounds and great food was exactly what should be in this environment. As long as clients have the description prior, it will be great. Now to Patzcuaro and Casa de la Real Aduna!! What can I say except I did not want to leave this place. I have never seen a more charming hotel anywhere and the town was so special….walking for hours yesterday just smiling all day. I can’t wait to send clients. We can discuss more when I see you in my office soon. A huge thank you to everyone who helped create this most special journey!

– Karen Benson, Camelback Odyssey Travel, March 2013

 

“I just talked to our clients, the Lewis’s and they were totally thrilled with the trip you put together for them!!!!  They are some of my favorite clients and just the sweetest couple ever, so I was so pleased they were happy. They told me about their first night at the Casa de Sierra Nevada when they went to dinner and were escourted to the wine cellar for a candlelight dinner with rose petals on the floor…….they were so impressed!!! (and so was I) WOW….thank you for that pleasant surprise!! Fred just went on and on about how much he loved this area of Mexico and how warm and welcoming everyone was to him and how all the arrangements were perfect. I appreciate all your work making this the trip he had dreamed it would be! I hope we get to work together again…..soon!”

– Barabra Richeson, Avant Travel, November 2012

 

“It was an experience completely outside of what we viewed as a stereotypical trip to Mexico. Michoaca’n was far from the tourist-heavy beach scene and had beautiful small towns and gorgeous landscape.  I was amazed at how quickly the landscape changed to natural beauty as soon we got outside of Mexico City.The highlight were the butterfly preserves. I will never forget riding horseback up the steep trails with my kids (3 & 5) into the mountains. At 10,000 feet elevation we were surrounded by fluttering wings with no one else there. There was one couple leaving as we arrived and that was about it.  We had a magical place to ourselves.
Our guide Alfredo had prepped us with the history of how the monarch butterflies migration was finally discovered and the importance of the area.  While in the preserve itself he taught the kids how to pick-up a butterfly without hurting it, and how to tell a male from a female. They loved it and it was great to have someone so attentive to our own interests as well as our small children. He even chose our lunch spot one day because it had a pond in the back patio where the kids could net some live fish.  That attention to detail added a lot to every excursion.
As for the travel company Journey Mexico, they had everything perfectly arranged. Housing and tour choices were safe, and well-thought out with warm welcoming places to hole up in after a busy day. We felt we could relax and reflect after a busy day. The hotel Zitacura in particular stood out with lush gardens, great food, and plenty of space for all of us to get a good nights sleep. Journey Mexico was also respectful of the fact we were traveling with small children and took that into account in the itinerary.
Alfredo and all of their guides were intelligent, personable, and completely professional. The company obviously took pride in knowing the country and it’s regions inside and out–with special focus on cultural, educational, and natural beauty in the lesser traveled regions of Mexico. All of their guides were aligned to that mission.  I liked that the guides were attentive to your needs–not just blathering out facts at us, but listening to us, gauging what we were interested in, and answering questions when we had them. Like any good teacher (my husband is an educator and payed attention to this) they listened as much as they spoke. Alfredo was a fantastic, attentive teacher who loved his country and had a passion for the history and the culture, and liked sharing it with people who were genuinely interested. He even gave my husband a CD by a local Michoaca’n musician that my husband had enjoyed.

– Carolyn, November 2012

“I was surprised to find that Mexico was so diverse. There are so many different things to see and do – whether you want a romantic getaway, an active trip or a city break, Mexico has it all. My most special moment on the tour was Campeche. What a beautiful find. A truly magical town. My clients would love to do everything highlighted by Journey Mexico. The whole trip was fantastic.” –

– Alys Colayera, Black Tomato, September 2012

 

We loved our trip. Copper Canyon is incredible and Journey Mexico planned a wonderful, stress free trip. The drivers and tour guides were always on time and very knowledgeable. Each of the hotels were unique and the staff very friendly. We especially liked Posada Barrancas (El Mirador) with the view and all of the activities around the hotel. We can’t wait to plan another trip with Journey Mexico.

-Melissa Santa Cruz,  March 2012

 

“Descending into the Mexico City airport, you immediately get the feeling this is going to be a nightmare to navigate. The urban sprawl can be seen in all directions, with even the surrounding mountains seemingly unable to contain it. Fortunately as we arrived and exited passport control and customs, Matteo [Luthi] from Journey Mexico was there to greet us, and to put us at ease. From that moment we were in great hands, all those connected with Journeys Mexico; the drivers, guides, those who planned our itinerary behind the scenes, all were professional, informative and friendly. Without our guides and the help of Journey Mexico we would never had be able to see so much and cover so much ground as efficiently as we did in such a short time. The MAPTA group is thankful and appreciative for all their help.”

– Joseph E. Gandolofo, The Travel Center/AMEX, January 2011

 

“I want to commend our wonderful guide. He was PERFECT FOR US. He was absolutely as knowledgeable as anyone possibly could be, in the whole spectrum of things. Anyone will be impressed by him. I loved our discussions about archaeology, political history, the colonial period, specific pieces in the museum, and on and on. —and what a gracious, kind, pleasant man. He led our little team of three and it was——just great. The driver and his son, Miguel, took tremendous care of us, particularly Ros. Miguel handled her wheel chair like a dedicated pro, such a NICE young man. I certainly will recommend JM.”

– Mr. & Mrs. McKibbin, April 2011

 

“My wife and I, and our dear friends completed six delightful days with Alfredo de la Cruz touring Morelia & Patzcuaro, Michoacan. To see the monarchs we were escorted to the El Rosario Sanctuary, Alfredo’s experience and extensive local contacts, enabled us to moved at the monarchs with a minnimum of effort. The monarch experience was more that we have hoped for. Alfredo is resourceful, flexible, efficient and thoughtful. His knowledge of the area, past and present, is impressive. His restaurant selections produced a variety of Michoacan cuisine that satisfied and educated us all. Our experience with Alfredo has been exceptional and one we will remember with pleasure.”

 – Gordon and Susan Carson, April 2011

 

“Our trip to Mexico could not have been better.The arrangements with Journey Mexico were flawless. We had a knowledgeable and very pleasant guide, who met us on arrival, took us on our day trips, which were wonderful, and and then loaded us on the luxury bus to San Miguel. He was always at our hotel door on time and managed to get us back when promised.We would definitely recommend this firm and this particular guide, Guillermo Castaneda. We also enjoyed staying at La Casona, a small boutique hotel in a nice neighborhood, with fine service and a very good little dining room. The continental breakfasts were excellent and the dinner menu, though limited, was most satisfying after late lunches and full days. Many thanks for all your good efforts. We loved Mexico!”

– Dorothy and Bill, March 2011

For more testimonials, visit RealTravelFeedback.com. If you would like to leave a testimonial, please e-mail it to [email protected]